There’s an awful cost to a PhD that no one talks about

Some of us found this article very helpful: http://qz.com/547641/theres-an-awful-cost-to-getting-a-phd-that-no-one-talks-about/ 

The purpose of posting this isn’t doom and gloom, but rather:

I might not have felt so alone had I known how many people struggle with mental health issues in academia. A 2015 study at the University of California Berkeley found that 47% of graduate students suffer from depression, following a previous 2005 study that showed 10% had contemplated suicide. A 2003 Australian study found that that the rate of mental illness in academic staff was three to four times higher than in the general population, according to a New Scientist article. The same article notes that the percentage of academics with mental illness in the United Kingdom has been estimated at 53%.

And we like how the author concluded:

These days, I seldom use my physics knowledge. But I still rely on the inner strength that I developed during my time in graduate school, which gave me the courage to mold my own life.

Leave a Reply

